News Stay informed about the latest enterprise technology news and product updates. Enterprise IT Leadership Awards 2013: Top CIOs sought's Enterprise IT Leadership Awards 2013 are underway! Enter your CIO/IT exec who demonstrates technology innovation and business acumen.

We're looking to reward some exceptional enterprise CIOs and IT executives in the 2013 Enterprise IT Leadership Awards!'s Enterprise IT Leadership Awards 2013 recognize the contributions and innovations of IT executives in global organizations, who excel at leveraging technology to deliver value, achieving goals, and resolving challenges. Specifically, we're looking to honor CIOs making strides in the areas of cultural innovation, technological advancement, business value, green IT, IT engagement and customer experience.

Does your CIO transform risks and challenges into growth opportunities for the business?  Do you know a CIO or other senior IT executive who:

  • Leverages technology in new and exciting ways?
  • Promotes a strong culture of innovation to build new revenue streams?
  • Engages the business in creative ways?

You can submit your nomination for the 2013 Enterprise IT Leadership Awards here. Finalists and winners in the following categories will be announced in early 2013:

  • Cultural Innovation: Given to a leader who made a positive impact on the company and/or the industry's culture, who has demonstrated exceptional citizenship and corporate leadership, and who has made a significant contribution to the company or serves as an industry role model.
  • Technological Advancement: Given to a leader whose focus on emerging technologies has had a significant positive impact on the organization.
  • Business Value: Given to a leader whose initiative promoted business goals and increased revenue.
  • Green IT: Given to a leader whose initiative promoted ecological and sustainable IT.
  • IT Engagement: Given to a leader who has encouraged optimal relationships between IT and a majority of the organization, including those units considered most critical to the business.
  • Customer Experience: Given to a leader who has made strides in building customer relationships and enhancing the experience of the external customer.
  • Enterprise IT Leader of the Year: Given to a leader whose efforts signified an achievement on many levels, including several if not all of the above categories, and who has made a substantial impact to a business or industry.

To be chosen, nominees must demonstrate that they are leading the way in both information technology initiatives and business acumen within their organizations.

Our judging panel

Harvey Koeppel
Harvey Koeppel is the former CIO of Citigroup’s Global Consumer Group (GCG). He also previously provided consulting services to CitiFinancial, Citibank and other Citi affiliates. His accomplishments in the financial services industry include designing the first graphical user interface for the Nasdaq trader workstation.
Niel Nickolaisen
Niel Nickolaisen  is CIO at Western Governors University in Salt Lake City. He is a frequent speaker, presenter and writer on IT's dual role enabling strategy and delivering operational excellence.
Dean Lane
Dean Lane has almost 30 years of hands-on experience in the IT industry, having been a CIO at four companies: Honeywell Aerospace, ATK (Alliant Techsystems), Plantronics and Masters Institute of Technology. He is currently the CIO of Henley-Putnam University, sits on the advisory board of the Society for Information Management and is an active member of Executive World, the Project Management Institute, APICS and the CIO Collective

What's in it for you?

Last year's IT awards nominees and winners

Slideshow: 2012 IT Leadership Award Winners

Read about all of last year's nominees and winners

The Enterprise IT Leadership Awards 2013 will honor individuals as well as their companies or organizations. The winners of each award will each receive a $150 gift card as well as an engraved glass trophy. The recipient of the Enterprise IT Leader of the Year award will receive a new iPad. Notable IT leaders will receive a certificate honoring their contributions, as well as VIP invitations to IT insider networking and leadership events throughout the country.  We'll also publish CIO profiles and video podcasts featuring winners and recognized leaders.

And that's not all -- if the IT professional you nominate wins an award, we'll send you a $25 gift card.

Submission deadline for the Enterprise IT Leadership Awards 2013

The nomination period has closed and we are now reviewing entries. We'll announce the finalists in April.

How we use your information

The information you provide will be used during our judging process. Our editors will confirm the information for all award nominees. Application information will be used for editorial purposes only, and your contact information will never be shared or sold.  Do you have information about your nominee that you would like us to consider while judging, but the information is proprietary and should not be published? Just make note of that in the provided text box within the application.

Judging process

Each application will be read by three members of the IT Leadership Awards 2013 Award judging panel, as well as by editors. Our three judges will rate each validated application and apply a score based on a scale of 1 to 10. They will award prizes for each of the six categories as well as the  Enterprise IT Leader of the Year. All scores will remain confidential and will not be released publicly, nor will they be discussed with individual applicants. Applications will be confirmed with vetted nominees. At that time, they will have the opportunity to correct or add information to their nominations before their applications proceed to the judging round.

How to write a winning application

We want to know all the ways your nominee is a cut above the rest in terms of IT leadership, creativity, working with vital business teams, supporting business goals and objectives, and promoting an ecologically sound initiative. And we love numbers! The more specific the information you provide, including numbers/data that measures the outcome of a particular problem or solution, the more your nomination will stand out to our panel of judges.  Please note that nominated entries should detail the CIO's or IT leader's work that was started, completed or in progress in 2012. Projects or initiatives that were completed before 2012 will not be considered.


The Enterprise IT Leadership Awards 2013 recognize individuals in companies with more than 1,000 employees. Nominees who are part of a company with fewer than 1,000 employees will not be considered for this award. (Nominees who are part of companies with between 100 and 1,000 employees might be eligible for our 2013 IT Leadership Awards.) Additionally, the Enterprise IT Leadership Awards exclude those IT professionals who are part of a technology provider or vendor organization.

One nomination per company will be considered by our panel. Nominators may submit only one entry.

Submit your nomination for the Enterprise IT Leadership Awards 2013 here!


Dig Deeper on Leadership and strategic planning

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.